Westminster Divines

The members of the Westminster Assembly of Divines —sometimes known collectively as the Westminster Divines— are those clergymen who participated in the Assembly which drafted the Westminster Confession of Faith. The Long Parliament’s initial ordinance creating the Westminster Assembly appointed 121 ministers of the Church of England to the Assembly, as well as providing for participation on the part of 30 lay assessors (10 nobles and 20 commoners), as well as six Commissioners representing the Church of Scotland. Of the original 121 divines, approximately 25 never took their seats in the Assembly. The Parliament subsequently added 21 additional ministers to the Assembly to replace those ministers who did not show up, or who had died or become ill since the calling of the Assembly.

    No Resources found